#16 Water here, water there, water everywhere!

15 Aug

I had such fond memories of visiting my dad on his “grand loop tour” around the country last year – cruising the clear blue sea by day and watching “The Godfather” at night in the Florida Keys, riding around the harbor where he and my mom grew up on Long Island – that I was really looking forward to spending another night on his boat this summer.

My nephews Sebastian and Joaquin were also there this weekend and along with my dad (and Zooey) we had a GREAT time!

Both kids are like water rats (in a good way) so we started out with a swim in the marina pool. Or should I say a jump, scream and splash in the pool!

Next was a fantastic barbecue dinner with my dad. Nothing beats sweet corn on the cob hot off the grill. Mmmm…

After dinner, Sebastian and I took a nice little walk with Zooey. She’s loves visiting the marina! Heck, she loves going just about anywhere (and now back at home she’s totally zonked out). There’s something about being near or on the water that’s totally relaxing. I feel such calm whenever I visit my dad on the St. Croix River.

As the sun set we played a few rounds of Uno. I don’t think I’ve played that since I was kid. Both Sebastian and Joaquin sure did like handing out the “Plus 4’s”! Ugh.

After game time came the main event! The boys and I decided to sleep outside under the stars on the top deck of the boat. Don’t think I’ve done that since Matt’s house when I was ten years old. But it was fabulous. The moon. The stars. The cool breeze. And no bugs! Plus it was their first time spending the night outside without a tent. How cool is that?!

The thing about sleeping outside, though, is that I was up with the sun. My dad made a delicious breakfast – eggs and veggies, fancy toast, fruit, french toast, veggie patties – to get the day started. Really wonderful!

After breakfast, Sebastian and I took Toxic – my dad’s latest homemade boat – out for spin. Man, that thing can fly! We topped out at close to thirty miles per hour. Woo-hoo!

Before leaving we all went for a bike ride along the river. It’s such a gorgeous area and a wonderful escape from the city.

So much so, I’m already looking forward to the next overnight on the boat!

Photo: Joaquin taking the plunge.

Photo: Sebastian being silly.

Photo: These goggles are WAY too tight!

Photo: Joaquin and Zooey.

Photo: Night falls on the St. Croix River.

Photo: Morning mist.

Photo: Taking “Toxic” out for spin!

Leave a comment